Steve Cohen
- Previous profession
- Not checked yet
What these lines mean
These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.
Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.
Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.
Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.
The saved record holds 1,132 recorded votes by Steve Cohen, from 2007 to 2026.
See Steve Cohen's page for the current Congress
This record covers the votes that passed a law: votes on passage, and votes on a House resolution that passed a law. Each Congress below lists the two apart. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.
119th Congress, 2025 to today
22 Yes · 29 No · 9 Did not vote on 60 laws of this Congress. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.
Votes on a resolution that passed a law
What this member says about laws and orders
This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 1 law and 1 executive order.
From the official record
Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.
From this member’s press releases
From a secondary sourceThese are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.
3 excerpts
-
Congressman Cohen Statement on Final Passage of GOP’s One Big Ugly Bill
“WASHINGTON, DC — Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-9) issued the following statement today after voting against final passage of President Trump’s so-called One Big Beautiful Bill Act (H.R. 1). House Republicans passed the Senate-amended version of the bill in a largely party line vote of 218-214, sending it to the President’s desk.”
-
Congressman Cohen Statement on Senate Passage of the One Big Beautiful Bill Act
“WASHINGTON, DC — Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-9) issued the following statement today after Senate Republicans passed President Trump’s so-called “One Big Beautiful Bill,” a massive giveaway to the ultra-wealthy that slashes Medicaid and health care, makes the largest cuts to food assistance in American history, reverses clean energy investments, and more.”
-
Congressman Cohen Displays “Gulf of Memphis” at D.C. Office
“The action follows President Trump’s Executive Order 14172, signed on January 20, renaming the Gulf of Mexico as the “Gulf of America.”
Member-requested spending
Congress printed 15 spending items this member requested, $14,827,487 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.
Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shelby County District Attorney General's Office | Public Law 119-74 | Shelby County District Attorney's Victim/Witness and Data Collection Services ProgramDOJ · OJP--Byrne | None printed | $1,031,000 |
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-74 | Memphis Youth Violence Prevention InitiativeDOJ · OJP--Byrne | None printed | $1,031,000 |
| Memphis Police Department | Public Law 119-74 | Memphis Police Department Equipment and Software Upgrades ProjectDOJ · COPS Tech | None printed | $1,031,000 |
| Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority | Public Law 119-75 | Terminal Modernization and Seismic Project at Memphis International AirportDepartment of Transportation · Grants-in-Aid for Airports | TN | $250,000 |
| Shelby County, TN | Public Law 119-75 | Historic Clayborn Temple Restoration Project, Memphis TNDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $3,150,000 |
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Historic Mason Temple Renovation ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $1,200,000 |
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Covenant Gardens Senior Apartments Construction ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $1,000,000 |
| Downtown Memphis Commission | Public Law 119-75 | Historic Sterick Building Renovation and Restoration ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $1,200,000 |
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Monroe Plaza and Extended Pedestrian Infrastructure Improvements ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $850,000 |
| Memphis Housing Authority | Public Law 119-75 | Electrical Infrastructure Upgrades at Montgomery Plaza, Memphis, TNDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $850,000 |
Show all 15
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Memphis Homeless Veterans Housing Facility RenovationDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $250,000 |
| City of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Youth and Families Facilities RenovationsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $850,000 |
| University of Memphis | Public Law 119-75 | Park Avenue Campus Water and Sewer Line Replacement and Street ImprovementsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $850,000 |
| Southwest Tennessee Community College | Public Law 119-75 | Reimagining Southwest Tennessee Community College Facilities RenovationsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | TN | $250,000 |
| Shelby County Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency | Public Law 119-86 | Shelby County Emergency Operations CenterFEMA · Federal Assistance-EOC | TN | $1,034,487 |
Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.
Campaign promises
Promises kept: Not checked yet
Not checked yetA person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.
- Campaign website: cohenforcongress.com. The Federal Election Commission’s record of COHEN FOR CONGRESS gives this address.Confirmed from the official record
- 2 pages of cohenforcongress.com saved on October 8, 2026. 1 states positions on issues.From a secondary source
Online ads
From a secondary sourceThese are records from public ad libraries, for advertisers tied to this member. We show an ad only after we save our own copy of it.
Cohen for Congress Google Ads Transparency Center
Evidence for the tie: The library lists FEC committee number C00422980 for this advertiser, and the FEC committee file names this member as that committee’s candidate.
The library lists 6 ads by this advertiser since January 3, 2025.
We have not saved our own copy of these 6 ads yet, so this page shows none of them. Cause: Google’s data file carries no words, picture or video of the ad.
Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.
Who funds this member
Confirmed from the official recordCOHEN FOR CONGRESS reports $776,210.64 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026.
Where the money comes from
Reported as $0: The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Transfers from the candidate's other committees, Refunds and rebates to the committee.
Committees that give the most
130 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.
| Committee | Kind, as the FEC lists it | Total | Payments |
|---|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPANY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPAY | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| SMART TD PACConnected organization: SMART TD | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 5 |
| FEDEX CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: FEDEX CORPORATION | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| ALLIED PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| SOUTHWEST AIRLINES PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (SWAPA PAC) | PAC, qualified | $7,500 | 3 |
| AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L EConnected organization: AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO | PAC, qualified | $7,500 | 3 |
| HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. TECHNOLOGIES PUBLIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL (HONPAC)Connected organization: HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. | PAC, qualified | $7,000 | 2 |
| ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS, INC. / ENTERPRISE MOBILITY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS, INC. | PAC, qualified | $6,000 | 3 |
| NUCOR CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NUCOR CORPORATION | PAC, qualified | $6,000 | 4 |
| DEMOCRACY SUMMER LEADERSHIP PACConnected organization: RASKIN | Leadership PAC | $5,500 | 4 |
Largest receipts from individuals
Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.
| Name, as itemized | City and state | Employer and occupation, as reported | Receipt | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BUTLER, CAROLGiven through a conduit committee | UPPERVILLE, VA | NOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED | $7,000 | |
| DONALDSON, TED B.Given through a conduit committee | MEMPHIS, TN | CREWS & ASSOCIATES · SALES | $5,000 | |
| WILDER, CANDACE | MEMPHIS, TN | Not reported | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| WILDER, CANDACE | MEMPHIS, TN | Not reported | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| TILLMANNS, TODD | MEMPHIS, TN | WEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| TILLMANNS, TODD | MEMPHIS, TN | WEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| TAUER, KURT | MEMPHIS, TN | WEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| TAUER, KURT | MEMPHIS, TN | WEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| STEGBAUER, WILLIAM | MEMPHIS, TN | N/A · RETIRED | $3,500 | |
| SOMER, SHAYNA | MEMPHIS, TN | Not reported | $3,500 |
Outside spending, apart from contributions
The FEC lists no outside spending for or against this member in 2025 and 2026.
See the full lists for Steve Cohen
Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).
Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.
Reported stock trades
Confirmed from the official record16 reports saved. 16 typed reports: rows Not checked yet.
- Report 20035350, filed · Typed report, rows not read yet · The Clerk's file
Our copy saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint c19294201aacdb7d - Report 20035235, filed · Typed report, rows not read yet · The Clerk's file
Our copy saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint f590b647b25853b8 - Report 20034796, filed · Typed report, rows not read yet · The Clerk's file
Our copy saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint 2b78212b71e77830 - Report 20034589, filed · Typed report, rows not read yet · The Clerk's file
Our copy saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint d2409a12eb43477f - Report 20034452, filed · Typed report, rows not read yet · The Clerk's file
Our copy saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint 1f05c5e87fdbb5e5
Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.
Where this comes from
Each vote comes from our saved copy of the official House or Senate roll call file. Open a law to see the file and its fingerprint.