Becca Balint
- Previous profession
- Teacher; Editorial columnist
- First public office
- 2015Member, Vermont State Senate, 2015 to 2023 (Majority Leader, 2017 to 2021; President Pro Tempore, 2021 to 2023)
- Years in public office
- 11
Confirmed from the official recordSource: Congressional Directory for the 119th Congress (2025-2026), February 20, 2026. We saved our copy on October 8, 2026.
What these lines mean
These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.
Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.
Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.
Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.
Since the current Congress began on January 3, 2025, Balint has a recorded vote on 60 laws that passed, and 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.
The tally counts votes on passage. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law is listed apart.
This record covers laws that passed. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.
The record in plain language
Of the 118 laws passed since January 3, 2025, 60 came to a recorded vote on passage in the House while Balint is a member. On 1 more, the recorded House vote is on a resolution. Balint votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed the Rescissions Act of 2025 in the House. The rest passed the House by voice vote or without objection, which records no individual votes.
Balint votes Yes on the Epstein Files Transparency Act and the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act.
On funding the government, Balint votes Yes on the January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA, and the September 2026 funding extension, and No on the March 2025 full-year funding law, the November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown and the February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies.
Balint votes No on the Laken Riley Act on immigration detention; the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, the 2025 tax and spending law; the HALT Fentanyl Act; the GENIUS Act on stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar); the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026; the Secure America Act, a 2026 budget law; and the Russia and Iran sanctions law.
Congress cancelled 24 federal rules by recorded vote in the House in that time. Balint votes to cancel 0 and against cancelling 23, and did not vote on 1.
Balint votes differently from most House Democrats on 3 of 58 Yes and No votes: No on the law that extends again the surveillance authority that lets intelligence agencies collect the communications of foreigners abroad from U.S. providers without individual warrants, No on the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026 and No on the HALT Fentanyl Act.
Balint did not vote on the Jocelyn Nungaray National Wildlife Refuge Act and the law that cancels a National Park Service rule that restricted where off-road vehicles could drive in Glen Canyon National Recreation Area.
Votes on laws that passed
Authorizes and expands sanctions and tariffs on Russia and extends existing sanctions on Iran.
Gives the Department of Homeland Security extra money for border and immigration enforcement, in seven amounts that add up to $69.545 billion.
Extends again the surveillance authority that lets intelligence agencies collect the communications of foreigners abroad from U.S. providers without individual warrants.
Cancels a federal order that had closed about 225,000 acres of national forest in northeastern Minnesota, near the Boundary Waters, to new mining leases for 20 years.
Cancels a District of Columbia law that changed how D.C.'s income and business taxes follow federal tax rules.
Full-year fiscal 2026 funding for a further group of federal agencies.
The annual defense policy law.
Cancels a land agency decision that limited oil and gas leasing on the coastal plain of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.
Cancels a land agency plan for northeastern Wyoming that ended new federal coal leasing in the Buffalo area.
Cancels a land agency plan for central Alaska that set aside large areas for conservation and limited development.
Cancels a land agency plan for federal lands in North Dakota that limited where coal, oil and gas could be leased.
Cancels a land agency plan for eastern Montana that ended new federal coal leasing in the Miles City area.
Cancels a land agency plan that limited oil and gas leasing in the National Petroleum Reserve in Alaska.
Ends the 43-day government shutdown of fall 2025.
Creates the first federal rules for payment stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar).
Permanently places fentanyl-related substances in the most restricted drug category, which carries the strictest criminal penalties, and eases registration for researchers who study them.
Cancels an EPA rule that had stopped certain large sources of toxic air pollution from being moved into a less strictly regulated category.
Cancels a bank regulator's rule that changed how proposed bank mergers are reviewed, restoring the earlier, faster process.
Cancels the EPA approval that let California set stricter smog-pollution limits for heavy-duty truck engines.
Cancels the EPA approval that let California phase out sales of new gasoline-only cars by 2035.
Cancels the EPA approval that let California require truck makers to sell a rising share of zero-emission trucks.
Cancels an EPA rule that tightened limits on toxic air emissions from tire manufacturing plants.
Cancels a rule that would have put the largest digital payment apps under the consumer bureau's regular supervision.
Cancels a consumer bureau rule that would have limited overdraft fees at the largest banks and credit unions.
Cancels an Energy Department efficiency standard for commercial refrigerators and freezers.
Cancels an Energy Department rule on how appliance makers certify, label and report the energy use of their products.
Cancels an Energy Department efficiency standard for walk-in coolers and freezers used by stores and restaurants.
Cancels an Energy Department efficiency standard for tankless gas water heaters.
Cancels an IRS rule that would have required decentralized finance platforms to report their customers' digital asset sales the way stockbrokers do.
Funds the federal government through September 30, 2025, mostly at the prior year's levels, with more for defense and less for non-defense programs.
Cancels a rule that required offshore oil and gas leaseholders to submit archaeological surveys of the seabed before drilling.
Cancels an EPA rule that set up how oil and gas facilities would be charged a fee for excess methane emissions.
Requires immigration authorities to detain non-citizens without legal status who are charged with, arrested for or convicted of theft-related crimes, assaulting a police officer, or crimes causing death or serious injury.
Votes on a resolution that passed a law
Cancels about $9 billion that Congress had already approved: roughly $8 billion in foreign aid and about $1 billion for public broadcasting.
What this member says about laws and orders
This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 2 laws and 1 executive order.
From the official record
Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.
From this member’s press releases
From a secondary sourceThese are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.
3 excerpts
-
Rep. Becca Balint Votes to Advance Bipartisan Housing Package to Address Affordability Crisis
“WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yesterday, U.S. Representative Becca Balint (VT-AL), a consistent and outspoken advocate for building affordable housing, voted in favor of H. Res. 1299, amended legislation to strengthen and advance the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act (H.R. 6644), a comprehensive package to expand housing supply, improve affordability, and strengthen protections for renters and homeowners.”
-
Rep. Balint Votes to Release the Epstein Files
“WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Becca Balint (VT-AL) released the following statement after voting YES on H.R. 4405 to release the Epstein files:”
-
“Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. Becca Balint (VT-AL) released the following statement after the Rules Committee rejected an amendment she sponsored to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), which would repeal the provisions of Executive Order 14339 issued August 25, 2025 related to the creation of a standing National Guard quick reaction force available for rapid nationwide deployment for quelling”
Member-requested spending
Congress printed 15 spending items this member requested, $13,508,000 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.
Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Springfield Hospital, Inc | Public Law 119-37 | Facility Improvements and Purchase of EquipmentRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities Program | VT | $1,000,000 |
| Lyndon Institute, Inc | Public Law 119-37 | Facility ImprovementsRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities Program | VT | $550,000 |
| Town of Granville | Public Law 119-37 | Fire Station Facility ImprovementsRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities Program | VT | $488,000 |
| Town of Pownal | Public Law 119-37 | Fire House ConstructionRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities Program | VT | $938,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e VT City of Burlin End WastewateEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $1,000,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e VT Town of Berlin Treatment ProEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $1,092,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e VT Town of Highga Wastewater Di ConstructionEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $750,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | State VT Town of Troy f Replacement PEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $1,040,000 |
| Norwich University Applied Research Institutes Ltd. | Public Law 119-74 | Community Response Empowerment Toolkit DevelopmentDOJ · OJP--Byrne | None printed | $500,000 |
| VT | Public Law 119-75 | Burlington--Winooski River Bridge ReplacementDepartment of Transportation · Highway Infrastructure Programs | VT | $850,000 |
Show all 15
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brattleboro Housing Authority d/b/a Brattleboro Housing Partnerships | Public Law 119-75 | Melrose Terrace RedevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | VT | $1,750,000 |
| Springfield Housing Authority | Public Law 119-75 | Southridge Cottage Court Workforce Housing RedevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | VT | $1,200,000 |
| Vermont Housing & Conservation Board | Public Law 119-75 | Hinesburg Windy Ridge Neighborhood and Housing DevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | VT | $850,000 |
| Burlington Housing Authority | Public Law 119-75 | Burlington Housing Authority Elevator ModernizationDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | VT | $500,000 |
| Town of Fairlee | Public Law 119-75 | Bridge and Main Housing Project-- Rehabilitation and ConstructionDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | VT | $1,000,000 |
Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.
Campaign promises
Promises kept: Not checked yet
Not checked yetA person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.
- Campaign website: www.beccabalint.com. The Federal Election Commission’s record of BECCA BALINT FOR VERMONT gives this address.Confirmed from the official record
- 2 pages of www.beccabalint.com saved on October 8, 2026. 1 states positions on issues.From a secondary source
Online ads
No advertiser in the ad libraries we read is tied to this member by an FEC number or an exact name.
Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.
Campaign money
For the 2026 election cycle, Balint's campaign reports receiving $956,338.66 and reports spending $475,768.27, as of July 22, 2026.
Confirmed from the official record| What the filing reports | 2026 cycleFEC number H2VT01076as of July 22, 2026 | 2024 cycleFEC number H2VT01076as of December 31, 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Money raised (total receipts) | $956,338.66 | $1,394,864.27 |
| Money spent (total disbursements) | $475,768.27 | $1,280,658.84 |
| Cash on hand (at the end of the period) | $626,331.88 | $145,761.49 |
| Debts (owed by the committee) | $0.00 | $0.00 |
Every figure is copied from the Federal Election Commission. The campaign's committee reports each one.
See contributions by size and by state, and the saved FEC files
Who funds this member
Confirmed from the official recordBECCA BALINT FOR VERMONT reports $956,338.66 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to July 22, 2026.
Where the money comes from
Reported as $0: The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Transfers from the candidate's other committees.
Committees that give the most
103 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.
| Committee | Kind, as the FEC lists it | Total | Payments |
|---|---|---|---|
| INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION LEAGUEConnected organization: INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERS | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| INT'L ASSOCIATION OF BRIDGE, STRUCTURAL, ORNAMENTAL AND REINFORCING IRON WORKERS (IPAL)Connected organization: INT'L ASSOCIATION OF BRIDGE, STRUCTURAL, ORNAMENTAL AND REINFORCING IRON WORKERS | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
| AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L EConnected organization: AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
| NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CONVENIENCE STORES POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CONVENIENCE STORES | PAC, qualified | $7,500 | 2 |
| EQUALITY PAC | Hybrid PAC, qualified | $7,500 | 2 |
| HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN PACConnected organization: HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN | PAC, qualified | $7,050 | 3 |
| LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICA (LIUNA) PACConnected organization: LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICA | PAC, qualified | $6,000 | 4 |
| AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC)Connected organization: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE (AAJ) | PAC, qualified | $6,000 | 4 |
| THE COUNCIL OF INSURANCE AGENTS & BROKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: COUNCIL OF INSURANCE AGENTS & BROKERS | PAC, qualified | $6,000 | 2 |
| ELECT DEMOCRATIC WOMENConnected organization: PRO-CHOICE WOMEN | PAC, qualified | $5,000 | 5 |
Largest receipts from individuals
Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.
| Name, as itemized | City and state | Employer and occupation, as reported | Receipt | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RECHNITZ, JOANGiven through a conduit committee | RED BANK, NJ | NOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED | $7,000 | |
| WOHL, JANE E. | BRATTLEBORO, VT | NOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED | $7,000 | |
| NIEMCZYK, CAROLINEGiven through a conduit committee | NEW YORK, NY | NOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED | $7,000 | |
| HELM, NELSON JRGiven through a conduit committee | LOUISVILLE, KY | NOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED | $7,000 | |
| SAPPERN, ADAMGiven through a conduit committee | CHICAGO, IL | MBB CAPITAL · PORTFOLIO MANAGER | $5,035 | |
| TURTLE MOUNTAIN BAND OF CHIPPEWA IN NORTH DAKOTA | BELCOURT, ND | Not reported | $5,000 | |
| SHUMLIN, JEFFREY P. | PUTNEY, VT | PUTNEY STUDENT TRAVEL · DIRECTOR | $5,000 | |
| OTOE-MISSOURIA TRIBE | RED ROCK, OK | Not reported | $3,500 | |
| HABEMATOLEL POMO OF UPPER LAKE TRIBE OF CALIFORNIA | UPPER LAKE, CA | Not reported | $3,500 | |
| OLIVER, THOMASGiven through a conduit committee | ATLANTA, GA | NOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED | $3,500 |
Outside spending, apart from contributions
Groups report spending $10 to support this member and $0 to oppose this member in 2025 and 2026. The member does not receive this money.
See the full lists for Becca Balint
Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).
Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.
Reported stock trades
Confirmed from the official recordThe Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 lists no Periodic Transaction Report under this member's name and district.
Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.
Where this comes from
We saved our own copy of each official House vote file listed here before writing this page. A code beside a file is its fingerprint, a short code that changes if the file's contents change.