Official portrait of Cliff Bentz
U.S. House · Oregon, District 2

Cliff Bentz

RRepublicanIn this seat since January 3, 2021Term ends January 3, 2027This seat is on the ballot November 3, 2026.
Previous profession
Attorney; Farmer; Owner / operator of commercial real estate business
First public office
1988Commissioner, Oregon Water Resources Commission, 1988 to 1996
Years in public office
25

Confirmed from the official recordSource: Congressional Directory for the 119th Congress (2025-2026), February 20, 2026. We saved our copy on October 8, 2026.

What these lines mean

These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.

Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.

Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.

Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.

Read more on the About page

Since the current Congress began on January 3, 2025, Bentz has a recorded vote on 60 laws that passed, and 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.

60 Yes · 0 No
Confirmed from the official record

The tally counts votes on passage. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law is listed apart.

This record covers laws that passed. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.

The record in plain language

Of the 118 laws passed since January 3, 2025, 60 came to a recorded vote on passage in the House while Bentz is a member. On 1 more, the recorded House vote is on a resolution. Bentz votes Yes on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed the Rescissions Act of 2025 in the House. The rest passed the House by voice vote or without objection, which records no individual votes.

Bentz votes Yes on the Laken Riley Act on immigration detention; the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, the 2025 tax and spending law; the HALT Fentanyl Act; the GENIUS Act on stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar); the Epstein Files Transparency Act; the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026; the Secure America Act, a 2026 budget law; the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act; and the Russia and Iran sanctions law.

On funding the government, Bentz votes Yes on the March 2025 full-year funding law; the November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown; the January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA; the February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies; and the September 2026 funding extension.

Congress cancelled 24 federal rules by recorded vote in the House in that time. Bentz votes to cancel 24 and against cancelling 0. The rules Bentz votes to cancel come from: Interior: Bureau of Land Management (7), Environmental Protection Agency (6), Energy (4), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (2), District of Columbia government (1), Treasury: Comptroller of the Currency (1), Interior: National Park Service (1), Treasury: Internal Revenue Service (1) and Interior: Ocean Energy Management (1).

Bentz votes the same way as most House Republicans on all 60 of these Yes and No votes.

Votes on laws that passed

Show all 60 votes

Votes on a resolution that passed a law

Public Law 119-28 · Signed July 24, 2025Rescissions Act of 2025

Cancels about $9 billion that Congress had already approved: roughly $8 billion in foreign aid and about $1 billion for public broadcasting.

House adopted H.Res. 590, 216–213Senate 51–48Votes Yes on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed this law in the House

What this member says about laws and orders

This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 2 laws.

From the official record

Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.

From this member’s press releases

From a secondary source

These are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.

2 excerpts

  1. Congressman Bentz Supports House Passage of Appropriations Bills

    “WASHINGTON, D.C.– Yesterday, the U.S. House of Representatives voted to pass the Senate amendment to H.R. 7148, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2026. Congressman Bentz (OR-02) voted in favor of this legislation, which passed the House by a vote of 217-214.”

    Named by: bill number · Saved October 6, 2026 · Fingerprint 98f96ffc29e4b8a3

  2. Congressman Bentz's Statement on the Release of the Epstein Files

    “Washington, D.C. – Congressman Cliff Bentz (R-OR) voted YES on H.R. 4405, the Epstein Files Transparency Act. This bill will require that the Attorney General release, to the public, all documents and records in the possession of the Department of Justice relating to Jeffery Epstein.”

    Named by: bill number · Saved October 6, 2026 · Fingerprint 3304f36191e0705d

Member-requested spending

Confirmed from the official record

Member-requested spending: none found in the 4 laws read so far.

Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.

Campaign promises

Promises kept: Not checked yet

Not checked yet

A person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.

Online ads

No advertiser in the ad libraries we read is tied to this member by an FEC number or an exact name.

Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.

Campaign money

For the 2026 election cycle, Bentz's campaign reports receiving $1,011,413.29 and reports spending $646,983.40, as of June 30, 2026.

Confirmed from the official record
What the filing reports2026 cycleFEC number H0OR02127as of June 30, 20262024 cycleFEC number H0OR02127as of December 31, 2024
Money raised (total receipts)$1,011,413.29$1,133,834.48
Money spent (total disbursements)$646,983.40$749,404.44
Cash on hand (at the end of the period)$1,420,774.69$1,056,344.80
Debts (owed by the committee)$0.00$48,100.00

Every figure is copied from the Federal Election Commission. The campaign's committee reports each one.

See contributions by size and by state, and the saved FEC files

Who funds this member

Confirmed from the official record

CLIFF BENTZ FOR CONGRESS reports $1,011,413.29 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026.

Where the money comes from

Reported as $0: Party committees, The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Transfers from the candidate's other committees, Other receipts.

Committees that give the most

214 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.

Committees that report paying this member's campaign committee, largest first
CommitteeKind, as the FEC lists itTotalPayments
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NABPAC)Connected organization: NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERSPAC, qualified$11,0003
KOCH, INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (KOCHPAC)Connected organization: KOCH, INC.PAC, qualified$10,0003
AMERICAN HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEPAC, qualified$10,0004
SPACE EXPLORATION TECHNOLOGIES CORP. PACConnected organization: SPACE EXPLORATION TECHNOLOGIES CORP.PAC, qualified$10,0002
BUILD POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS (BUILDPAC)Connected organization: NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERSPAC, qualified$10,0002
NATIONAL CATTLEMEN'S BEEF ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NCBA-PAC)Connected organization: NATIONAL CATTLEMEN'S BEEF ASSOCIATIONPAC, qualified$10,0002
NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATIONPAC, qualified$10,0002
NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION AMERICA'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES PACConnected organization: NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (NRECA)PAC, qualified$10,0007
REPUBLICAN GOVERNANCE GROUP/TUESDAY GROUP PACPAC, qualified$10,00010
AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATIONPAC, qualified$10,0004

Largest receipts from individuals

Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.

Largest itemized receipts from individuals
Name, as itemizedCity and stateEmployer and occupation, as reportedReceiptDate
FLOWERREE, JOHN MR.RENO, NVNONE · RETIRED$7,000June 1, 2026
GANDER, WILLIAM D. MR.PORTLAND, ORNONE · RETIRED$7,000February 17, 2026
SAN PABLO LYTTON BAND OF POM INDIANSSAN PABLO, CANot reported$5,000April 9, 2025
GANDER, WILLIAM D. MR.PORTLAND, ORNONE · RETIRED$4,000$11,000 to date, as reportedApril 29, 2026
YOCHA DEHE WINTUN NATIONBROOKS, CANot reported$3,500September 30, 2025
WALKER, KENTMOUNTAIN VIEW, CAGOOGLE LLC · EXECUTIVE$3,500August 29, 2025
PECHANGA BAND OF LUISENO INDIANSTEMECULA, CANot reported$3,500September 30, 2025
FRERES, THEODORE KYLEAUMSVILLE, ORFRERES ENGINEERED WOOD · OWNER$3,500July 16, 2025
CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE COLVILLE RESERVATIONNESPELEM, WANot reported$3,500$5,000 to date, as reportedSeptember 30, 2025
BLAIR, GREGORYWHITE CITY, ORNot reported$3,500July 14, 2025

Outside spending, apart from contributions

The FEC lists no outside spending for or against this member in 2025 and 2026.

See the full lists for Cliff Bentz

Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).

Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.

Reported stock trades

Confirmed from the official record

2 reports saved. 2 typed reports: rows Not checked yet.

Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.

Where this comes from

We saved our own copy of each official House vote file listed here before writing this page. A code beside a file is its fingerprint, a short code that changes if the file's contents change.

Official portraitCongress.gov member directory · saved October 5, 2026 · Image courtesy of the Member
eba3f4feca096749Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 308 of 2026 (Russia and Iran sanctions law)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 284 of 2026 (Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 285 of 2026 (Local Access to Courts Act)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
See the other 58 vote files
Suggest a tool

Suggest a tool

A person reads each idea before it appears. Links are not accepted. Do not include personal information.

See all ideas and vote