Member of Congress · saved history

Becca Balint

Previous profession
Teacher; Editorial columnist
First public office
2015Member, Vermont State Senate, 2015 to 2023 (Majority Leader, 2017 to 2021; President Pro Tempore, 2021 to 2023)
Years in public office
11

Confirmed from the official recordSource: Congressional Directory for the 119th Congress (2025-2026), February 20, 2026. We saved our copy on October 8, 2026.

What these lines mean

These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.

Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.

Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.

Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.

Read more on the About page

The saved record holds 142 recorded votes by Becca Balint, from 2023 to 2026.

96 Yes · 42 No · 4 Did not vote
Confirmed from the official record

See Becca Balint's page for the current Congress

This record covers the votes that passed a law: votes on passage, and votes on a House resolution that passed a law. Each Congress below lists the two apart. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.

119th Congress, 2025 to today

DDemocratHouse · Vermont · January 3, 2025 to January 3, 2027

24 Yes · 34 No · 2 Did not vote on 60 laws of this Congress. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.

Public Law 119-111 · House vote on Lindsey O. Graham Sanctioning Russia and Iran Act of 2026
No
Public Law 119-103 · House vote on Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2027
Yes
Public Law 119-109 · House vote on Local Access to Courts Act
Yes
Public Law 119-110 · House vote on Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act
Yes
Public Law 119-101 · House vote on 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act
Yes
Public Law 119-102 · House vote on Emergency Conservation Program Improvement Act of 2025
Yes
Public Law 119-98 · House vote on Secure America Act
No
Public Law 119-99 · House vote on Alaska's Right to Ivory Sales and Tradition Act
Yes
Yes
Public Law 119-100 · House vote on Lulu's Law
Yes
S. 4465 · House vote on Public Law 119-87
No
S. 1020 · House vote on Public Law 119-90
Yes
Public Law 119-83 · House vote on Small Business Innovation and Economic Security Act
Yes
Public Law 119-88 · House vote on Tribal Trust Land Homeownership Act of 2025
Yes
H.J.Res. 142 · House vote on Public Law 119-78
No
Public Law 119-75 · House vote on Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2026
No
H.J.Res. 140 · House vote on Public Law 119-85
No
Public Law 119-66 · House vote on Congressional Award Program Reauthorization Act
Yes
Public Law 119-60 · House vote on National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2026
No
Public Law 119-58 · House vote on Secure Rural Schools Reauthorization Act of 2025
Yes
Public Law 119-38 · House vote on Epstein Files Transparency Act
Yes
S.J.Res. 80 · House vote on Public Law 119-47
No
H.J.Res. 130 · House vote on Public Law 119-51
No
H.J.Res. 131 · House vote on Public Law 119-52
No
H.J.Res. 104 · House vote on Public Law 119-48
No
H.J.Res. 105 · House vote on Public Law 119-49
No
H.J.Res. 106 · House vote on Public Law 119-50
No
Public Law 119-27 · House vote on GENIUS Act
No
Public Law 119-30 · House vote on Jocelyn Nungaray National Wildlife Refuge Act
Did not vote
Public Law 119-21 · House vote on One Big Beautiful Bill Act
No
Public Law 119-26 · House vote on HALT Fentanyl Act
No
Public Law 119-44 · House vote on SUPPORT for Patients and Communities Reauthorization Act of 2025
Yes
S.J.Res. 31 · House vote on Public Law 119-20
No
S.J.Res. 13 · House vote on Public Law 119-19
No
H.J.Res. 88 · House vote on Public Law 119-16
No
H.J.Res. 87 · House vote on Public Law 119-15
No
H.J.Res. 89 · House vote on Public Law 119-17
No
H.J.Res. 60 · House vote on Public Law 119-13
Did not vote
Public Law 119-12 · House vote on TAKE IT DOWN Act
Yes
S.J.Res. 18 · House vote on Public Law 119-10
No
S.J.Res. 28 · House vote on Public Law 119-11
No
Public Law 119-64 · House vote on Disaster Related Extension of Deadlines Act
Yes
Public Law 119-29 · House vote on Filing Relief for Natural Disasters Act
Yes
H.J.Res. 24 · House vote on Public Law 119-7
No
H.J.Res. 75 · House vote on Public Law 119-9
No
Public Law 119-4 · House vote on Full-Year Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2025
No
H.J.Res. 25 · House vote on Public Law 119-5
No
S.J.Res. 11 · House vote on Public Law 119-3
No
H.J.Res. 42 · House vote on Public Law 119-8
No
H.J.Res. 61 · House vote on Public Law 119-14
No
H.J.Res. 20 · House vote on Public Law 119-6
No
H.J.Res. 35 · House vote on Public Law 119-2
No
Public Law 119-43 · House vote on Medal of Honor Act
Yes
Public Law 119-23 · House vote on Alaska Native Village Municipal Lands Restoration Act of 2025
Yes
Public Law 119-1 · House vote on Laken Riley Act
No
Public Law 119-61 · House vote on Wounded Knee Massacre Memorial and Sacred Site Act
Yes
Public Law 119-62 · House vote on Modernizing Access to our Public Waters Act of 2025
Yes

Votes on a resolution that passed a law

Public Law 119-28 · House vote on H.Res. 590, Rescissions Act of 2025
Votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed this law in the House

What this member says about laws and orders

This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 2 laws and 1 executive order.

From the official record

Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.

From this member’s press releases

From a secondary source

These are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.

3 excerpts

  1. Rep. Becca Balint Votes to Advance Bipartisan Housing Package to Address Affordability Crisis

    “WASHINGTON, D.C. – Yesterday, U.S. Representative Becca Balint (VT-AL), a consistent and outspoken advocate for building affordable housing, voted in favor of H. Res. 1299, amended legislation to strengthen and advance the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act (H.R. 6644), a comprehensive package to expand housing supply, improve affordability, and strengthen protections for renters and homeowners.”

    Named by: bill number · Saved October 6, 2026 · Fingerprint 333ea064d02d3ba4

  2. Rep. Balint Votes to Release the Epstein Files

    “WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Becca Balint (VT-AL) released the following statement after voting YES on H.R. 4405 to release the Epstein files:”

    Named by: bill number · Saved October 7, 2026 · Fingerprint 7bad5d8e9965e1f5

  3. House Republicans Reject Balint Amendment to End Trump’s Use of the National Guard as a Military ‘Reaction Force’ Against American Citizens

    “Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. Becca Balint (VT-AL) released the following statement after the Rules Committee rejected an amendment she sponsored to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), which would repeal the provisions of Executive Order 14339 issued August 25, 2025 related to the creation of a standing National Guard quick reaction force available for rapid nationwide deployment for quelling”

    Named by: order number · Saved October 7, 2026 · Fingerprint 12dec54cd53c0f6e

Member-requested spending

Confirmed from the official record

Congress printed 15 spending items this member requested, $13,508,000 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.

Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.

RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
Springfield Hospital, IncPublic Law 119-37Facility Improvements and Purchase of EquipmentRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities ProgramVT$1,000,000
Lyndon Institute, IncPublic Law 119-37Facility ImprovementsRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities ProgramVT$550,000
Town of GranvillePublic Law 119-37Fire Station Facility ImprovementsRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities ProgramVT$488,000
Town of PownalPublic Law 119-37Fire House ConstructionRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities ProgramVT$938,000
on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving FundPublic Law 119-74e VT City of Burlin End WastewateEnvironmentAgency · al ProtectiNone printed$1,000,000
on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving FundPublic Law 119-74e VT Town of Berlin Treatment ProEnvironmentAgency · al ProtectiNone printed$1,092,000
on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving FundPublic Law 119-74e VT Town of Highga Wastewater Di ConstructionEnvironmentAgency · al ProtectiNone printed$750,000
on STAG--Drinking Water Revolving FundPublic Law 119-74State VT Town of Troy f Replacement PEnvironmentAgency · al ProtectiNone printed$1,040,000
Norwich University Applied Research Institutes Ltd.Public Law 119-74Community Response Empowerment Toolkit DevelopmentDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$500,000
VTPublic Law 119-75Burlington--Winooski River Bridge ReplacementDepartment of Transportation · Highway Infrastructure ProgramsVT$850,000
Show all 15
RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
Brattleboro Housing Authority d/b/a Brattleboro Housing PartnershipsPublic Law 119-75Melrose Terrace RedevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundVT$1,750,000
Springfield Housing AuthorityPublic Law 119-75Southridge Cottage Court Workforce Housing RedevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundVT$1,200,000
Vermont Housing & Conservation BoardPublic Law 119-75Hinesburg Windy Ridge Neighborhood and Housing DevelopmentDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundVT$850,000
Burlington Housing AuthorityPublic Law 119-75Burlington Housing Authority Elevator ModernizationDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundVT$500,000
Town of FairleePublic Law 119-75Bridge and Main Housing Project-- Rehabilitation and ConstructionDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundVT$1,000,000

Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.

Campaign promises

Promises kept: Not checked yet

Not checked yet

A person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.

Who funds this member

Confirmed from the official record

BECCA BALINT FOR VERMONT reports $956,338.66 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to July 22, 2026.

Where the money comes from

Reported as $0: The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Transfers from the candidate's other committees.

Committees that give the most

103 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.

Committees that report paying this member's campaign committee, largest first
CommitteeKind, as the FEC lists itTotalPayments
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION LEAGUEConnected organization: INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERSPAC, qualified$10,0002
INT'L ASSOCIATION OF BRIDGE, STRUCTURAL, ORNAMENTAL AND REINFORCING IRON WORKERS (IPAL)Connected organization: INT'L ASSOCIATION OF BRIDGE, STRUCTURAL, ORNAMENTAL AND REINFORCING IRON WORKERSPAC, qualified$10,0004
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L EConnected organization: AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIOPAC, qualified$10,0004
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CONVENIENCE STORES POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CONVENIENCE STORESPAC, qualified$7,5002
EQUALITY PACHybrid PAC, qualified$7,5002
HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN PACConnected organization: HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGNPAC, qualified$7,0503
LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICA (LIUNA) PACConnected organization: LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICAPAC, qualified$6,0004
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC)Connected organization: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE (AAJ)PAC, qualified$6,0004
THE COUNCIL OF INSURANCE AGENTS & BROKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: COUNCIL OF INSURANCE AGENTS & BROKERSPAC, qualified$6,0002
ELECT DEMOCRATIC WOMENConnected organization: PRO-CHOICE WOMENPAC, qualified$5,0005

Largest receipts from individuals

Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.

Largest itemized receipts from individuals
Name, as itemizedCity and stateEmployer and occupation, as reportedReceiptDate
RECHNITZ, JOANGiven through a conduit committeeRED BANK, NJNOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED$7,000
WOHL, JANE E.BRATTLEBORO, VTNOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED$7,000
NIEMCZYK, CAROLINEGiven through a conduit committeeNEW YORK, NYNOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED$7,000
HELM, NELSON JRGiven through a conduit committeeLOUISVILLE, KYNOT EMPLOYED · RETIRED$7,000
SAPPERN, ADAMGiven through a conduit committeeCHICAGO, ILMBB CAPITAL · PORTFOLIO MANAGER$5,035
TURTLE MOUNTAIN BAND OF CHIPPEWA IN NORTH DAKOTABELCOURT, NDNot reported$5,000
SHUMLIN, JEFFREY P.PUTNEY, VTPUTNEY STUDENT TRAVEL · DIRECTOR$5,000
OTOE-MISSOURIA TRIBERED ROCK, OKNot reported$3,500
HABEMATOLEL POMO OF UPPER LAKE TRIBE OF CALIFORNIAUPPER LAKE, CANot reported$3,500
OLIVER, THOMASGiven through a conduit committeeATLANTA, GANOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED$3,500

Outside spending, apart from contributions

Groups report spending $10 to support this member and $0 to oppose this member in 2025 and 2026. The member does not receive this money.

See the full lists for Becca Balint

Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).

Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.

Reported stock trades

Confirmed from the official record

The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 lists no Periodic Transaction Report under this member's name and district.

Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.

Where this comes from

Each vote comes from our saved copy of the official House or Senate roll call file. Open a law to see the file and its fingerprint.

Suggest a tool

Suggest a tool

A person reads each idea before it appears. Links are not accepted. Do not include personal information.

See all ideas and vote