Official portrait of Steve Cohen
U.S. House · Tennessee, District 9

Steve Cohen

DDemocratIn this seat since January 4, 2007Term ends January 3, 2027This seat is on the ballot November 3, 2026.
Previous profession
Not checked yet
What these lines mean

These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.

Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.

Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.

Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.

Read more on the About page

Since the current Congress began on January 3, 2025, Cohen has a recorded vote on 60 laws that passed, and 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.

22 Yes · 29 No · 9 Did not vote
Confirmed from the official record

The tally counts votes on passage. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law is listed apart.

This record covers laws that passed. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.

The record in plain language

Of the 118 laws passed since January 3, 2025, 60 came to a recorded vote on passage in the House while Cohen is a member. On 1 more, the recorded House vote is on a resolution. Cohen votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed the Rescissions Act of 2025 in the House. The rest passed the House by voice vote or without objection, which records no individual votes.

Cohen votes Yes on the HALT Fentanyl Act, the Epstein Files Transparency Act, the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act and the Russia and Iran sanctions law.

On funding the government, Cohen votes Yes on the January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA, and the September 2026 funding extension, and No on the March 2025 full-year funding law, the November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown and the February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies.

Cohen votes No on the Laken Riley Act on immigration detention; the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, the 2025 tax and spending law; the GENIUS Act on stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar); the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026; and the Secure America Act, a 2026 budget law.

Congress cancelled 24 federal rules by recorded vote in the House in that time. Cohen votes to cancel 0 and against cancelling 20, and did not vote on 4.

Cohen votes differently from most House Democrats on 3 of 51 Yes and No votes: Yes on the Russia and Iran sanctions law, No on the law that extends again the surveillance authority that lets intelligence agencies collect the communications of foreigners abroad from U.S. providers without individual warrants and No on the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026.

Cohen did not vote on the Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act, the Local Access to Courts Act, Lulu's Law, the Fiscal Year 2025 Veterans Affairs Major Medical Facility Authorization Act, the law that cancels the EPA approval that let California set stricter smog-pollution limits for heavy-duty truck engines and the law that cancels the EPA approval that let California phase out sales of new gasoline-only cars by 2035, and 3 more in the list below.

Votes on laws that passed

Most recent

Public Law 119-111 · Signed Lindsey O. Graham Sanctioning Russia and Iran Act of 2026

Authorizes and expands sanctions and tariffs on Russia and extends existing sanctions on Iran.

House 262–159Senate 86–11Votes Yes
Public Law 119-110 · Signed Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act

Requires the federal prison system to act on sexual harassment and assault of its staff by incarcerated people.

House 376–8Senate: without objectionDid not vote
Public Law 119-109 · Signed Local Access to Courts Act

Adds College Station, Texas, and El Centro, California, to the places where federal court can sit.

House 378–10Senate: without objectionDid not vote
Public Law 119-103 · Signed Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2027

Keeps the federal government funded at about last year's levels through December 11, 2026.

House 370–48Senate 90–6Votes Yes

Most recent No votes

Public Law 119-98 · Signed Secure America Act

Gives the Department of Homeland Security extra money for border and immigration enforcement, in seven amounts that add up to $69.545 billion.

House 214–212Senate 52–47Votes No
S. 4465 · Signed Public Law 119-87

Extends again the surveillance authority that lets intelligence agencies collect the communications of foreigners abroad from U.S. providers without individual warrants.

House 261–111Senate: voice voteVotes No

Votes on a resolution that passed a law

Public Law 119-28 · Signed Rescissions Act of 2025

Cancels about $9 billion that Congress had already approved: roughly $8 billion in foreign aid and about $1 billion for public broadcasting.

House adopted H.Res. 590, 216–213Senate 51–48Votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed this law in the House

What this member says about laws and orders

This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 1 law and 1 executive order.

From the official record

Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.

From this member’s press releases

From a secondary source

These are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.

3 excerpts

  1. Congressman Cohen Statement on Final Passage of GOP’s One Big Ugly Bill

    “WASHINGTON, DC — Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-9) issued the following statement today after voting against final passage of President Trump’s so-called One Big Beautiful Bill Act (H.R. 1). House Republicans passed the Senate-amended version of the bill in a largely party line vote of 218-214, sending it to the President’s desk.”

    Named by: law name · Saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint 60ba862004c07b35

  2. Congressman Cohen Statement on Senate Passage of the One Big Beautiful Bill Act

    “WASHINGTON, DC — Congressman Steve Cohen (TN-9) issued the following statement today after Senate Republicans passed President Trump’s so-called “One Big Beautiful Bill,” a massive giveaway to the ultra-wealthy that slashes Medicaid and health care, makes the largest cuts to food assistance in American history, reverses clean energy investments, and more.”

    Named by: law name · Saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint 15b4fc116bba3cce

  3. Congressman Cohen Displays “Gulf of Memphis” at D.C. Office

    “The action follows President Trump’s Executive Order 14172, signed on January 20, renaming the Gulf of Mexico as the “Gulf of America.”

    Named by: order number · Saved October 8, 2026 · Fingerprint a6a38e98f3084088

Member-requested spending

Confirmed from the official record

Congress printed 15 spending items this member requested, $14,827,487 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.

Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.

RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
Shelby County District Attorney General's OfficePublic Law 119-74Shelby County District Attorney's Victim/Witness and Data Collection Services ProgramDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$1,031,000
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-74Memphis Youth Violence Prevention InitiativeDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$1,031,000
Memphis Police DepartmentPublic Law 119-74Memphis Police Department Equipment and Software Upgrades ProjectDOJ · COPS TechNone printed$1,031,000
Memphis-Shelby County Airport AuthorityPublic Law 119-75Terminal Modernization and Seismic Project at Memphis International AirportDepartment of Transportation · Grants-in-Aid for AirportsTN$250,000
Shelby County, TNPublic Law 119-75Historic Clayborn Temple Restoration Project, Memphis TNDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$3,150,000
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Historic Mason Temple Renovation ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$1,200,000
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Covenant Gardens Senior Apartments Construction ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$1,000,000
Downtown Memphis CommissionPublic Law 119-75Historic Sterick Building Renovation and Restoration ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$1,200,000
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Monroe Plaza and Extended Pedestrian Infrastructure Improvements ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$850,000
Memphis Housing AuthorityPublic Law 119-75Electrical Infrastructure Upgrades at Montgomery Plaza, Memphis, TNDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$850,000
Show all 15
RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Memphis Homeless Veterans Housing Facility RenovationDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$250,000
City of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Youth and Families Facilities RenovationsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$850,000
University of MemphisPublic Law 119-75Park Avenue Campus Water and Sewer Line Replacement and Street ImprovementsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$850,000
Southwest Tennessee Community CollegePublic Law 119-75Reimagining Southwest Tennessee Community College Facilities RenovationsDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundTN$250,000
Shelby County Emergency Management and Homeland Security AgencyPublic Law 119-86Shelby County Emergency Operations CenterFEMA · Federal Assistance-EOCTN$1,034,487

Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.

Campaign promises

Promises kept: Not checked yet

Not checked yet

A person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.

Online ads

From a secondary source

These are records from public ad libraries, for advertisers tied to this member. We show an ad only after we save our own copy of it.

We have not saved our own copy of these 6 ads yet, so this page shows none of them. Cause: Google’s data file carries no words, picture or video of the ad.

Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.

Campaign money

For the 2026 election cycle, Cohen's campaign reports receiving $776,210.64 and reports spending $652,524.94, as of June 30, 2026.

Confirmed from the official record
What the filing reports2026 cycleFEC number H6TN09068as of June 30, 20262024 cycleFEC number H6TN09068as of December 31, 2024
Money raised (total receipts)$776,210.64$703,466.48
Money spent (total disbursements)$652,524.94$432,301.02
Cash on hand (at the end of the period)$1,843,018.39$1,719,832.69
Debts (owed by the committee)$0.00$0.00

Every figure is copied from the Federal Election Commission. The campaign's committee reports each one.

See contributions by size and by state, and the saved FEC files

Who funds this member

Confirmed from the official record

COHEN FOR CONGRESS reports $776,210.64 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026.

Where the money comes from

Reported as $0: The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Transfers from the candidate's other committees, Refunds and rebates to the committee.

Committees that give the most

130 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.

Committees that report paying this member's campaign committee, largest first
CommitteeKind, as the FEC lists itTotalPayments
AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPANY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPAYPAC, qualified$10,0002
SMART TD PACConnected organization: SMART TDPAC, qualified$10,0005
FEDEX CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: FEDEX CORPORATIONPAC, qualified$10,0002
ALLIED PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEPAC, qualified$10,0002
SOUTHWEST AIRLINES PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (SWAPA PAC)PAC, qualified$7,5003
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L EConnected organization: AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIOPAC, qualified$7,5003
HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. TECHNOLOGIES PUBLIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL (HONPAC)Connected organization: HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC.PAC, qualified$7,0002
ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS, INC. / ENTERPRISE MOBILITY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS, INC.PAC, qualified$6,0003
NUCOR CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NUCOR CORPORATIONPAC, qualified$6,0004
DEMOCRACY SUMMER LEADERSHIP PACConnected organization: RASKINLeadership PAC$5,5004

Largest receipts from individuals

Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.

Largest itemized receipts from individuals
Name, as itemizedCity and stateEmployer and occupation, as reportedReceiptDate
BUTLER, CAROLGiven through a conduit committeeUPPERVILLE, VANOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED$7,000
DONALDSON, TED B.Given through a conduit committeeMEMPHIS, TNCREWS & ASSOCIATES · SALES$5,000
WILDER, CANDACEMEMPHIS, TNNot reported$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
WILDER, CANDACEMEMPHIS, TNNot reported$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
TILLMANNS, TODDMEMPHIS, TNWEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
TILLMANNS, TODDMEMPHIS, TNWEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
TAUER, KURTMEMPHIS, TNWEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
TAUER, KURTMEMPHIS, TNWEST CLINIC · PHYSICIAN$3,500$7,000 to date, as reported
STEGBAUER, WILLIAMMEMPHIS, TNN/A · RETIRED$3,500
SOMER, SHAYNAMEMPHIS, TNNot reported$3,500

Outside spending, apart from contributions

The FEC lists no outside spending for or against this member in 2025 and 2026.

See the full lists for Steve Cohen

Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).

Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.

Reported stock trades

Confirmed from the official record

16 reports saved. 16 typed reports: rows Not checked yet.

See all 16 reports

Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.

Where this comes from

We saved our own copy of each official House vote file listed here before writing this page. A code beside a file is its fingerprint, a short code that changes if the file's contents change.

Official portraitCongress.gov member directory · saved · Image courtesy of the Member
5fdfcb6a3e86feb5Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 308 of 2026 (Russia and Iran sanctions law)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 284 of 2026 (Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 285 of 2026 (Local Access to Courts Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 286 of 2026 (September 2026 funding extension)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 223 of 2026 (Emergency Conservation Program Improvement Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 224 of 2026 (21st Century ROAD to Housing Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 181 of 2026 (Lulu's Law)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 193 of 2026 (Alaska's Right to Ivory Sales and Tradition Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 214 of 2026 (Secure America Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 180 of 2026 (Fiscal Year 2025 Veterans Affairs Major Medical Facility Authorization Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 129 of 2026 (Public Law 119-90)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 81 of 2026 (Tribal Trust Land Homeownership Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 155 of 2026 (Public Law 119-87)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 38 of 2026 (Public Law 119-85)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 89 of 2026 (Small Business Innovation and Economic Security Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 56 of 2026 (Public Law 119-78)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 53 of 2026 (February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 7 of 2026 (January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 335 of 2025 (Congressional Award Program Reauthorization Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 88 of 2025 (Disaster Related Extension of Deadlines Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 19 of 2025 (Modernizing Access to our Public Waters Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 22 of 2025 (Wounded Knee Massacre Memorial and Sacred Site Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 320 of 2025 (defense policy law for fiscal year 2026)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 315 of 2025 (Secure Rural Schools Reauthorization Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 295 of 2025 (Public Law 119-52)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 294 of 2025 (Public Law 119-51)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 225 of 2025 (Public Law 119-50)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 226 of 2025 (Public Law 119-49)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 224 of 2025 (Public Law 119-48)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 296 of 2025 (Public Law 119-47)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 151 of 2025 (SUPPORT for Patients and Communities Reauthorization Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 51 of 2025 (Medal of Honor Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 289 of 2025 (Epstein Files Transparency Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 285 of 2025 (November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 193 of 2025 (Jocelyn Nungaray National Wildlife Refuge Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 84 of 2025 (Filing Relief for Natural Disasters Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 203 of 2025 (Rescissions Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved · the vote on H.Res. 590
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 200 of 2025 (GENIUS Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 166 of 2025 (HALT Fentanyl Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 125 of 2025 (Salem Maritime National Historical Park Redesignation and Boundary Study Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 28 of 2025 (Alaska Native Village Municipal Lands Restoration Act of 2025)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 190 of 2025 (One Big Beautiful Bill Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 143 of 2025 (Public Law 119-20)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 137 of 2025 (Public Law 119-19)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 112 of 2025 (Public Law 119-17)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 114 of 2025 (Public Law 119-16)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 111 of 2025 (Public Law 119-15)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 58 of 2025 (Public Law 119-14)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 110 of 2025 (Public Law 119-13)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 104 of 2025 (TAKE IT DOWN Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 95 of 2025 (Public Law 119-11)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 96 of 2025 (Public Law 119-10)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 78 of 2025 (Public Law 119-9)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 59 of 2025 (Public Law 119-8)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 77 of 2025 (Public Law 119-7)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 53 of 2025 (Public Law 119-6)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 71 of 2025 (Public Law 119-5)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 70 of 2025 (March 2025 full-year funding law)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 61 of 2025 (Public Law 119-3)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 52 of 2025 (Public Law 119-2)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 23 of 2025 (Laken Riley Act)clerk.house.gov · saved
Confirmed from the official record
Suggest a tool

Suggest a tool

A person reads each idea before it appears. Links are not accepted. Do not include personal information.

See all ideas and vote