Troy Balderson
- Previous profession
- Farmer; Customer service, family-owned automobile dealership
- First public office
- 2009Member, Ohio House of Representatives, 2009 to 2011
- Years in public office
- 17
Confirmed from the official recordSource: Congressional Directory for the 119th Congress (2025-2026), February 20, 2026. We saved our copy on October 8, 2026.
What these lines mean
These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.
Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.
Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.
Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.
Since the current Congress began on January 3, 2025, Balderson has a recorded vote on 60 laws that passed, and 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.
The tally counts votes on passage. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law is listed apart.
This record covers laws that passed. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.
The record in plain language
Of the 118 laws passed since January 3, 2025, 60 came to a recorded vote on passage in the House while Balderson is a member. On 1 more, the recorded House vote is on a resolution. Balderson votes Yes on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed the Rescissions Act of 2025 in the House. The rest passed the House by voice vote or without objection, which records no individual votes.
Balderson votes Yes on the Laken Riley Act on immigration detention; the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, the 2025 tax and spending law; the HALT Fentanyl Act; the GENIUS Act on stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar); the Epstein Files Transparency Act; the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026; the Secure America Act, a 2026 budget law; the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act; and the Russia and Iran sanctions law.
On funding the government, Balderson votes Yes on the March 2025 full-year funding law; the November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown; the January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA; the February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies; and the September 2026 funding extension.
Congress cancelled 24 federal rules by recorded vote in the House in that time. Balderson votes to cancel 24 and against cancelling 0. The rules Balderson votes to cancel come from: Interior: Bureau of Land Management (7), Environmental Protection Agency (6), Energy (4), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (2), District of Columbia government (1), Treasury: Comptroller of the Currency (1), Interior: National Park Service (1), Treasury: Internal Revenue Service (1) and Interior: Ocean Energy Management (1).
Balderson votes the same way as most House Republicans on all 60 of these Yes and No votes.
Votes on laws that passed
Most recent
Authorizes and expands sanctions and tariffs on Russia and extends existing sanctions on Iran.
Requires the federal prison system to act on sexual harassment and assault of its staff by incarcerated people.
Adds College Station, Texas, and El Centro, California, to the places where federal court can sit.
Keeps the federal government funded at about last year's levels through December 11, 2026.
Votes on a resolution that passed a law
Cancels about $9 billion that Congress had already approved: roughly $8 billion in foreign aid and about $1 billion for public broadcasting.
What this member says about laws and orders
This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 1 law and 1 executive order.
From the official record
Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.
From this member’s press releases
From a secondary sourceThese are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.
2 excerpts
-
Balderson Joins President Trump for Announcement to Lower Car Prices and Protect Consumer Choice
“Under the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, signed into law in July, Congress eliminated key enforcement mechanisms for Biden’s heightened CAFE standards. Today’s announcement resets those standards to a common-sense level that keeps new vehicle prices within reach while supporting continued improvements in fuel efficiency.”
-
“WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Representatives Troy Balderson (OH-12), Chairman of the House Energy Action Team (HEAT), and Harriet Hageman (WY-At-Large) introduced legislation today to codify and make permanent President Donald Trump’s Executive Order Protecting American Energy From State Overreach.”
Member-requested spending
Congress printed 15 spending items this member requested, $18,150,000 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.
Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e OH Village of Cha System ReplacEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $600,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e OH Village of Jun Wastewater Tr UpgradesEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $750,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e OH Village of McC Sewer Line PrEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $900,000 |
| on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | e OH Village of Tho Regional Wast ProjectEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $1,000,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH City of Cambri Waterline ProEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $2,000,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Muskingum Coun Waterline ExpEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $900,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Tuscarawas Cou System ImprovEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $900,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Village of Fre Water ImproveEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $900,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Village of Mil Waterline ProEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $400,000 |
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Village of New Waterline ProEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $650,000 |
Show all 15
| Recipient | Law | Purpose | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on STAG--Drinking Water S Revolving Fund | Public Law 119-74 | tate OH Village of Sto Water Treatme ProjectEnvironmentAgency · al Protecti | None printed | $650,000 |
| OH | Public Law 119-75 | Thornwood Drive South Improvement Project, City of HeathDepartment of Transportation · Highway Infrastructure Programs | OH | $4,000,000 |
| OH | Public Law 119-75 | Ety Road South Improvement Project, City of LancasterDepartment of Transportation · Highway Infrastructure Programs | OH | $2,000,000 |
| OH | Public Law 119-75 | Sunbury Parkway Phase D ProjectDepartment of Transportation · Highway Infrastructure Programs | OH | $1,000,000 |
| Village of Albany | Public Law 119-75 | Industrial Park Access Road ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development Fund | OH | $1,500,000 |
Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.
Campaign promises
Promises kept: Not checked yet
Not checked yetA person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.
- Campaign website: baldersonforcongress.com. The Federal Election Commission’s record of BALDERSON FOR CONGRESS gives this address.Confirmed from the official record
- 2 pages of baldersonforcongress.com saved on October 8, 2026. 1 states positions on issues.From a secondary source
Online ads
From a secondary sourceThese are records from public ad libraries, for advertisers tied to this member. We show an ad only after we save our own copy of it.
BALDERSON FOR CONGRESS Google Ads Transparency Center
Evidence for the tie: The library lists FEC committee number C00662650 for this advertiser, and the FEC committee file names this member as that committee’s candidate.
The library lists 1 ad by this advertiser since January 3, 2025.
We have not saved our own copy of this ad yet, so this page does not show it. Cause: Google’s data file carries no words, picture or video of the ad.
Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.
Campaign money
For the 2026 election cycle, Balderson's campaign reports receiving $1,743,281.03 and reports spending $767,354.32, as of June 30, 2026.
Confirmed from the official record| What the filing reports | 2026 cycleFEC number H8OH12180as of June 30, 2026 | 2024 cycleFEC number H8OH12180as of December 31, 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Money raised (total receipts) | $1,743,281.03 | $2,127,294.14 |
| Money spent (total disbursements) | $767,354.32 | $1,524,661.06 |
| Cash on hand (at the end of the period) | $1,982,351.53 | $1,006,424.82 |
| Debts (owed by the committee) | $0.00 | $0.00 |
Every figure is copied from the Federal Election Commission. The campaign's committee reports each one.
See contributions by size and by state, and the saved FEC files
Who funds this member
Confirmed from the official recordBALDERSON FOR CONGRESS reports $1,743,281.03 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026.
Where the money comes from
Reported as $0: Party committees, The candidate's own contributions, Loans from the candidate, Other loans, Refunds and rebates to the committee.
Committees that give the most
322 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.
| Committee | Kind, as the FEC lists it | Total | Payments |
|---|---|---|---|
| SOUTHWEST AIRLINES PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (SWAPA PAC) | PAC, qualified | $13,000 | 3 |
| NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 5 |
| DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION EMPLOYEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (DUKEPAC)Connected organization: DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
| AMERICAN COUNCIL OF ENGINEERING COMPANIES (ACEC/PAC)Connected organization: AMERICAN COUNCIL OF ENGINEERING COMPANIES | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 3 |
| ABBOTT LABORATORIES EMPLOYEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: ABBOTT LABORATORIES | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| VISTRA EMPLOYEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF VISTRA CORP.Connected organization: VISTRA CORP. | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
| AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ORTHODONTISTS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ORTHODONTISTS | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| THE AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER COMMITTEE FOR RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENTConnected organization: AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
| NETJETS ASSOCIATION OF SHARED AIRCRAFT PILOTS PAC; NJASAP PAC | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 2 |
| CONSTELLATION ENERGY CORPORATION EMPLOYEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (CEPAC)Connected organization: CONSTELLATION ENERGY CORPORATION | PAC, qualified | $10,000 | 4 |
Joint fundraising committees collect checks for several campaigns and pass on each share. Largest for this member: BALDERSON VICTORY FUND ($63,221.62).
Largest receipts from individuals
Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.
| Name, as itemized | City and state | Employer and occupation, as reported | Receipt | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RASTIN, TOM | MOUNT VERNON, OH | ARIEL CORPORATION · RETIRED | $7,200$10,700 to date, as reported | |
| FRAME, TRACYGiven through a conduit committee | ZANESVILLE, OH | COSHOCTON CITY TIRE · BUSINESS OWNER | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| EDATTEL, PAULGiven through a conduit committee | ARLINGTON, VA | TODD STRATEGY GROUP · CONSULTANT | $3,500$6,800 to date, as reported | |
| CLARKE, BENJAMINGiven through a conduit committee | POWELL, OH | RETIRED · RETIRED | $3,500 | |
| KESSLER, ROBERT D. | ZANESWESTE, OH | Not reported | $3,500 | |
| HANKINSON, LYNNELL P | NEWARK, OH | Not reported | $3,500 | |
| NICOLOZAKES, WILLIAM A | ZANESVILLE, OH | NICOLOZAKES TRUCKING · PRESIDENT | $3,500 | |
| O'BRIEN, JOSEPH D | SHELBYVILLE, KY | Not reported | $3,500 | |
| WALKER, KIRT | COLUMBUS, OH | NATIONWIDE · PRESIDENT AND COO NATIONWIDE FINANCIAL | $3,500$7,000 to date, as reported | |
| WILHEIM, RONALDGiven through a conduit committee | CINCINNATI, OH | COMMUNICARE · CEO | $3,500$5,000 to date, as reported |
Outside spending, apart from contributions
The FEC lists no outside spending for or against this member in 2025 and 2026.
See the full lists for Troy Balderson
Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).
Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.
Reported stock trades
Confirmed from the official recordThe Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 lists no Periodic Transaction Report under this member's name and district.
Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.
Where this comes from
We saved our own copy of each official House vote file listed here before writing this page. A code beside a file is its fingerprint, a short code that changes if the file's contents change.