Official portrait of Yassamin Ansari
U.S. House · Arizona, District 3

Yassamin Ansari

DDemocratIn this seat since January 3, 2025Term ends January 3, 2027This seat is on the ballot November 3, 2026.
Previous profession
Staff, United Nations, 2015 to 2021
First public office
2021Member, Phoenix City Council, 2021 to 2024
Years in public office
4of 11 years since 2015, the first year the biography gives for any work

Confirmed from the official recordSource: Congressional Directory for the 119th Congress (2025-2026), February 20, 2026. We saved our copy on October 8, 2026.

What these lines mean

These lines come from this official’s entry in the Congressional Directory, which Congress publishes. Each member’s office supplies or approves its entry. We save our own copy and sort each part of the entry by fixed rules. No AI is used.

Previous profession lists the work the entry names outside public office, in the Directory’s own words. Public office here means an elected or appointed position, staff work for an elected official or a legislature, and party or campaign work.

Lifelong politician means: Congress’s biography lists no occupation outside public office. It also means the entry lists no military service. A person on our side confirms these words before they appear.

Years in public office counts elected and appointed positions only. Staff work and party work are left out. Each year counts once.

Read more on the About page

Since the current Congress began on January 3, 2025, Ansari has a recorded vote on 60 laws that passed, and 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law.

25 Yes · 33 No · 2 Did not vote
Confirmed from the official record

The tally counts votes on passage. 1 vote on a resolution that passed a law is listed apart.

This record covers laws that passed. Votes on bills that did not become law are not included yet.

The record in plain language

Of the 118 laws passed since January 3, 2025, 60 came to a recorded vote on passage in the House while Ansari is a member. On 1 more, the recorded House vote is on a resolution. Ansari votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed the Rescissions Act of 2025 in the House. The rest passed the House by voice vote or without objection, which records no individual votes.

Ansari votes Yes on the Epstein Files Transparency Act and the 21st Century ROAD to Housing Act.

On funding the government, Ansari votes Yes on the January 2026 funding law for science, energy, Interior and the EPA, and No on the March 2025 full-year funding law, the November 2025 law that ended the 43-day shutdown, the February 2026 funding law for a further group of agencies and the September 2026 funding extension.

Ansari votes No on the Laken Riley Act on immigration detention; the One Big Beautiful Bill Act, the 2025 tax and spending law; the HALT Fentanyl Act; the GENIUS Act on stablecoins (digital tokens pegged to the dollar); the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026; the Secure America Act, a 2026 budget law; and the Russia and Iran sanctions law.

Congress cancelled 24 federal rules by recorded vote in the House in that time. Ansari votes to cancel 1 and against cancelling 21, and did not vote on 2. The rules Ansari votes to cancel come from: Treasury: Internal Revenue Service (1).

Ansari votes differently from most House Democrats on 5 of 58 Yes and No votes: No on the September 2026 funding extension, No on the law that extends again the surveillance authority that lets intelligence agencies collect the communications of foreigners abroad from U.S. providers without individual warrants, No on the defense policy law for fiscal year 2026, No on the HALT Fentanyl Act and Yes on the law that cancels an IRS rule that would have required decentralized finance platforms to report their customers' digital asset sales the way stockbrokers do.

Ansari did not vote on the law that cancels an Energy Department efficiency standard for commercial refrigerators and freezers and the law that cancels an Energy Department efficiency standard for walk-in coolers and freezers used by stores and restaurants.

Votes on laws that passed

Most recent

Public Law 119-111 · Signed September 18, 2026Lindsey O. Graham Sanctioning Russia and Iran Act of 2026

Authorizes and expands sanctions and tariffs on Russia and extends existing sanctions on Iran.

House 262–159Senate 86–11Votes No
Public Law 119-110 · Signed September 16, 2026Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act

Requires the federal prison system to act on sexual harassment and assault of its staff by incarcerated people.

House 376–8Senate: without objectionVotes Yes
Public Law 119-109 · Signed September 16, 2026Local Access to Courts Act

Adds College Station, Texas, and El Centro, California, to the places where federal court can sit.

House 378–10Senate: without objectionVotes Yes
Public Law 119-103 · Signed September 2, 2026Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2027

Keeps the federal government funded at about last year's levels through December 11, 2026.

House 370–48Senate 90–6Votes No

Most recent No votes

Public Law 119-111 · Signed September 18, 2026Lindsey O. Graham Sanctioning Russia and Iran Act of 2026

Authorizes and expands sanctions and tariffs on Russia and extends existing sanctions on Iran.

House 262–159Senate 86–11Votes No
Public Law 119-103 · Signed September 2, 2026Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2027

Keeps the federal government funded at about last year's levels through December 11, 2026.

House 370–48Senate 90–6Votes No

Votes on a resolution that passed a law

Public Law 119-28 · Signed July 24, 2025Rescissions Act of 2025

Cancels about $9 billion that Congress had already approved: roughly $8 billion in foreign aid and about $1 billion for public broadcasting.

House adopted H.Res. 590, 216–213Senate 51–48Votes No on H.Res. 590, the resolution that passed this law in the House

What this member says about laws and orders

This section has two lists: statements in the official record, and excerpts from this member’s own press releases. Together they name 1 law.

From the official record

Statements from the official record: Not checked yet. A statement appears here after a person reviews our account of the law or order it is about.

From this member’s press releases

From a secondary source

These are excerpts from press releases on this member’s official website that name a law or an executive order. We save a copy of each one.

1 excerpt

  1. Rep. Ansari Hosts Shadow Hearing on Healthcare Affordability

    “Medicaid is how most Americans actually pay for long-term care, yet H.R. 1’s historic cuts shredded that patchwork system. These cuts don’t save money, they benefit the wealthiest among us while shifting costs onto emergency rooms, states, and family caregivers, who already provide $1.1 trillion in unpaid care and often can’t get care for themselves.”

    Named by: bill number · Saved October 6, 2026 · Fingerprint 9986ffe6513efb0b

Member-requested spending

Confirmed from the official record

Congress printed 14 spending items this member requested, $17,786,000 in all, in the lists read for 4 laws.

Laws read: Public Law 119-37, Public Law 119-74, Public Law 119-75, Public Law 119-86.

RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
City of TollesonPublic Law 119-37Canal Path ImprovementsRural Housing Service · Rural Community Facilities ProgramAZ$1,015,000
on STAG--Clean Water Stat Revolving FundPublic Law 119-74e AZ City of Tolles Wastewater DiEnvironmentAgency · al ProtectiNone printed$1,092,000
Skysong Innovations, LLCPublic Law 119-74Arizona State University CHIPs and Domestic Manufacturing ProjectDOC · NIST--STR SNone printed$2,062,000
Skysong Innovations, LLCPublic Law 119-74Arizona State University Center for Heat PreparednessDOC · NIST--STR SNone printed$2,062,000
Valley Metro Regional Public Transportation AuthorityPublic Law 119-74Valley Metro Community Safety ProjectDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$1,000,000
Axiom Community of Recovery (ACR)Public Law 119-74ACR Transition to Recovery and ReentryDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$580,000
Arouet FoundationPublic Law 119-74Arouet Foundation's 2026 Reentry Prosperity ModelDOJ · OJP--ByrneNone printed$1,008,000
City of PhoenixPublic Law 119-74Phoenix Real Time Crime Center (RTCC)DOJ · COPS TechNone printed$2,062,000
City of PhoenixPublic Law 119-75Sky Harbor Airport ImprovementsDepartment of Transportation · Grants-in-Aid for AirportsAZ$250,000
City of PhoenixPublic Law 119-75Phoenix Emergency ShelterDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundAZ$830,000
Show all 14
RecipientLawPurposeStateAmount
Town of GuadalupePublic Law 119-75Biehn Colony Park ReconstructionDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundAZ$2,000,000
City of PhoenixPublic Law 119-75Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fire Mitigation and Acquisition ProjectDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundAZ$800,000
City of PhoenixPublic Law 119-75Phoenix Fire Department Wildland and Emergency Response AcquisitionDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundAZ$2,175,000
City of GlendalePublic Law 119-75Glendale Arizona CD- 03 Transportation Improvements and StreetscapingDepartment of Housing and Urban Development · Community Development FundAZ$850,000

Read from the lists Congress printed for 4 laws. An item requested by several members appears under each of them, so sums across members count such an item more than once. A list the Congressional Record printed on two days is counted once, from the later printing. A requester is tied to a member only when exactly one member serving in that chamber on that day has the printed name.

Campaign promises

Promises kept: Not checked yet

Not checked yet

A person has not reviewed this member’s campaign promises yet. This is what we hold so far.

Online ads

No advertiser in the ad libraries we read is tied to this member by an FEC number or an exact name.

Read from Google Ads Transparency Center, its data file of October 7, 2026. Meta Ad Library: Not started. An ad counts when the library last shows it on or after January 3, 2025.

Campaign money

For the 2026 election cycle, Ansari's campaign reports receiving $1,436,332.77 and reports spending $899,422.65, as of July 1, 2026.

Confirmed from the official record
What the filing reports2026 cycleFEC number H4AZ03109as of July 1, 20262024 cycleFEC number H4AZ03109as of December 31, 2024
Money raised (total receipts)$1,436,332.77$2,876,682.29
Money spent (total disbursements)$899,422.65$2,866,271.58
Cash on hand (at the end of the period)$547,320.83$10,410.71
Debts (owed by the committee)$70,000.00$375,000.00

Every figure is copied from the Federal Election Commission. The campaign's committee reports each one.

See contributions by size and by state, and the saved FEC files

Who funds this member

Confirmed from the official record

YASSAMIN ANSARI FOR CONGRESS reports $1,436,332.77 in total receipts, January 1, 2025 to July 1, 2026.

Where the money comes from

Reported as $0: Party committees, Other loans.

Committees that give the most

82 committees report paying this committee. These are the largest, joint fundraising committees aside.

Committees that report paying this member's campaign committee, largest first
CommitteeKind, as the FEC lists itTotalPayments
UNITE HERE TIP CAMPAIGN COMMITTEEConnected organization: UNITE HEREPAC, qualified$10,0002
UNITED FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL UNION ACTIVE BALLOT CLUBPAC, qualified$10,0002
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERSPAC, qualified$10,0002
MOMS FED UPPAC, qualified$10,0002
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FIREFIGHTERS INTERESTED IN REGISTRATION AND EDUCATION PACConnected organization: INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FIRE FIGHTERSPAC, qualified$10,0003
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L EConnected organization: AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIOPAC, qualified$10,0004
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC)Connected organization: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE (AAJ)PAC, qualified$7,5003
LIFTOFF PACConnected organization: KELLYLeadership PAC$6,0006
MEDICARE FOR ALLConnected organization: JAYAPALLeadership PAC$5,0001
AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPANY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEEConnected organization: AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPAYPAC, qualified$5,0001

Joint fundraising committees collect checks for several campaigns and pass on each share. Largest for this member: YASSAMIN ANSARI VICTORY FUND ($15,265.69).

Largest receipts from individuals

Each line is one receipt as the committee itemized it for the FEC. Many people give the same legal maximum, so this is a part of a larger group.

Largest itemized receipts from individuals
Name, as itemizedCity and stateEmployer and occupation, as reportedReceiptDate
MALEK, REZAGiven through a conduit committeePALO ALTO, CAPALO ALTO MEDICAL FOUNDATION · PHYSICIAN$6,000$13,000 to date, as reportedSeptember 21, 2025
VOSSOUGH, ANGELGiven through a conduit committeeATHERTON, CANOT EMPLOYED · SW ENGINEER$4,000$7,500 to date, as reportedMarch 28, 2025
KEMP, THOMASMENLO PARK, CACALIFORNIA PRIVACY PROTECTION AGENCY · EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$3,500May 24, 2026
KUSHI, HISAOSANTA MONICA, CAERNESTA HOME, INC. · ATTORNEY$3,500$5,000 to date, as reportedMay 24, 2026
PARENTEAU, RICHARDGiven through a conduit committeeSUNNYVALE, CANOT EMPLOYED · NOT EMPLOYED$3,500May 18, 2026
AK-CHIN INDIAN COMMUNITYMARICOPA, AZNot reported$3,500July 1, 2026
PASCUA YAQUI TRIBETUCSON, AZNot reported$3,500$7,000 to date, as reportedApril 24, 2026
HARRIS, WILLIAMGiven through a conduit committeeMIAMI BEACH, FLEVERGREEN WEALTH · EXECUTIVE$3,500$7,000 to date, as reportedJune 2, 2026
BIVENS, DONGiven through a conduit committeePARADISE VALLEY, AZDON BIVENS PLLC · ATTORNEY$3,500June 30, 2026
CUMMING, ANNETTEJACKSON, WYCUMMING FOUNDATION · EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$3,500May 28, 2026

Outside spending, apart from contributions

Groups report spending $3,385.27 to support this member and $0 to oppose this member in 2025 and 2026. The member does not receive this money.

See the full lists for Yassamin Ansari

Federal law forbids using contributors' names and addresses taken from FEC reports to ask for contributions or for any commercial purpose (52 U.S.C. 30111(a)(4)).

Source: Federal Election Commission. Period: January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2026. Our copy of the FEC's answers was saved October 8, 2026.

Reported stock trades

Confirmed from the official record

The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 lists no Periodic Transaction Report under this member's name and district.

Source: Periodic Transaction Reports filed with the Clerk of the House. The Clerk's index for 2025 and 2026 was saved October 8, 2026.

Where this comes from

We saved our own copy of each official House vote file listed here before writing this page. A code beside a file is its fingerprint, a short code that changes if the file's contents change.

Official portraitCongress.gov member directory · saved October 5, 2026 · Image courtesy of the Member
8b2557031af478ddConfirmed from the official record
House roll call 308 of 2026 (Russia and Iran sanctions law)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 284 of 2026 (Prison Staff Safety Enhancement Act)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
House roll call 285 of 2026 (Local Access to Courts Act)clerk.house.gov · saved October 5, 2026
Confirmed from the official record
See the other 58 vote files
Suggest a tool

Suggest a tool

A person reads each idea before it appears. Links are not accepted. Do not include personal information.

See all ideas and vote